Graduate and Post Doctoral Program Development

Task Force White Paper

Posted 1-21-11 | 8 pg

Student Forum on Strategic Planning

  • February 16, 20116 p.m., Talley Student Center Ballroom.

    Task Force Focus

    The following questions are provided as a starting point for task force discussions and are not intended to limit the range of discussions.

        • How do we ensure graduate students’ and postdoctoral scholars’ success?
        • What are the highest priority areas for graduate and professional degree program development?
        • How will we increase graduate enrollment as a proportion of total enrollment?
        • How do we ensure effective mentoring of doctoral students?
        • How will we provide sufficient GSSP, space, and other resources to be competitive for the best students?
        • What is the role of postdoctoral students and programs on our campus?

    While the Task Force still considers these questions highly relevant, the group is currently considering models at other universities for major structural changes in graduate program organization. We welcome comments on models that you admire on the potential for bold changes that might enhance graduate education at NC State University.

    Task Force Members

    Audrey Jaeger (co-chair)
    Associate Professor, Leadership, Policy and Adult and Higher Education
    College of Education

    Barbara Sherry (co-chair)
    Professor, Molecular Biomedical Sciences
    College of Veterinary Medicine

    Steve Allen
    Associate Dean, Jenkins Graduate School of Management and
    Associate Dean, Research
    College of Management

    Lynne Baker-Ward
    Professor, Psychology
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences

    Chris Broadhurst
    Doctoral Candidate, Educational Research and Policy Analysis
    College of Education

    Erica Cutchins
    Thesis and Dissertation Editor
    The Graduate School

    Myron Floyd
    Professor, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
    College of Natural Resources

    Allen Foegeding
    William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor, Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
    College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

    Vicki Gallagher
    Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences

    Aloysius Helminck
    Department Head, Mathematics
    College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences

    Sam Jones
    Professor, Clinical Sciences
    College of Veterinary Medicine

    Richard Keltie
    Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Programs
    College of Engineering

    Duane Larick
    The Graduate School

    Bill Oxenham
    Associate Dean for Academic Programs
    College of Textiles

    Wayne Place
    Professor, Architecture
    College of Design

    Elizabeth Rueschhoff
    Postdoctoral Associate, Genetics
    College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

    Toan To
    Graduate Student, Higher Education Administration
    College of Education